top of page

REVIEW: SHUNUS



Cairo-based British-born British producer Shunus embraces organic elements and modern sounds to create unique and beautiful house music. His productions are driven by his musical intuition and years of experience playing various instruments and genres.


We have had the pleasure of speaking with him and this has been the result. Enjoy!


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


I first discovered the world of music production when trying to record the demos of the rock / metals I was in as a teenager, this opened the gate to some of the electronic music around at the time. But it wasn't until around the early 2010's when syntbwave exploded with films like Drive and games like Hotline Miami when I really got into electronic music. Then it was once I moved to Egypt and was introduced to the house and techno scene here that I got into this side of electronic music.

Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


I think every few years there's an album I discover that really inspires me. Albums such as Horse The Band's Desperate Living, Blank Banshee's 0, Com Truise's In Decay and Deerhoof's Break Up Songs just name a few

How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?


Fortunately and unfortunately most of Egypt acts as if the pandemic doesn't really exist. While the music scene was affacted a little in the early days. Most events have been operating normally.


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?


I'm lucky to live in one of the greener areas or Cairo. Being able to walk around the streets in Ma'adi is fantastic.



Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?

I am pretty much making music 24/7 in some way or another. I constantly like to push myself looking into different genres though you may not see these releases from my Shunus Alias. I perform with other artists and projects too and recently put out an album with my band Wolf Fang Midi. Unfortunately due to the pandemic I haven't seen my family for a long.


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind?

I just attempt to make music using maybe slightly unconventional sounds within the genre that makes me want to dance, so I hope it also makes other want to dance. I normally hear a genre of music and think about how I can mix it with the Organic House Genre. In this new EP I wanted to focus on adding more of a blues/jazz/lounge feel to the music.


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?

I keep my studio very simple. Nice listening space and monitors mainly. I go through phases of trying out new equipment, but most of the time they end up just collecting dust. Apart from my guitars and vocals. I always end up going back to just using my computer mouse and keyboard to create everything.

What's the one thing you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


Always need my humble production corner.


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


For this new EP.. Blues & Jazz inspired Organic House


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


Sadly there is not a huge selection of record stores in Egypt. The last record I purchased in store would like be Pertubator's The Uncanny Vally


Find us on all platforms: solo.to/artvibesmusic

bottom of page