top of page

INTERVIEW: Eugenio Tokarev



Eugenio Tokarev joins us for todays The Last Future interview. His recent collaboration "Going Deep" with Dutch singer/songwriter Cari has been on full repeat in our office. Enjoy...


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?

Hello everyone and thanks for having me! The first thing that attracted me to the world of electronic music is the vibe that has this genre. Now you can find EDM shades almost in every big Pop production but before it were more underground and had such a unique vibe that nobody could recreate.



Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?

In my case it were more like some tracks that brought my into EDM but if I had to choose I'd go with Gareth Emery - Northern Lights. Probably the best trance album I've ever heard especially because it was a time when I was just starting to discover electronic music.



Since you got into this professionally, what helped you the most to grow as an artist?

In my personal opinion if you want to grow as an artist you have to do two things. Compare with others and have a few friends-producers who can give you a proper feedback on your music. Of course you can grow without them but it will take much more time.




How is the music scene in your city?

The same as in whole country - Spain has a big culture of flamenco and reggaeton but I feel like it becames bigger and bigger every year. Thanks to big festivals that brings EDM here and make it grow.



What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?

Alicante is a very touristic place full of beaches and cafes so I prefer more calm places like mountains or Parc del Tossal. Such a beautiful spots overlooking the whole city.



Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects during this past year(s) of lockdowns?

Since I'm not a big DJ most of my time I spend at home so to be honest it didn't really affect my daily life. I still was making music, spending time with family and all that stuff.



What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind it?

For example, my last release was the final release at Cloudland Music alongside with great Dutch vocalist Cari. We tried to make something peacful and emotional so people can remember this track and the final accord. It was really great to mark the end of this era and wanted to thank Cloudland Team for this opportunity! The concept is that music is a separate world for everyone. Every person has their own and no matter what you put into it, each listener will find something of their own. If one will feel happyness the other one can feel sadness during the same song. I try to make a story 5-6 minutes long which everyone interprets in their own way.



As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?

It's pretty simple and common stuff: PC AMD Ryzen 7 5700G/16GB/1TB+512GB SSD, Focusrite Solo G3, Bayerdynamics DT990 Pro, Yamaha HS5 and midi keyboard Nectar SE49



What's the one bit of kit you'll never get rid of, no matter what?

My headphones Bayerdynamics DT990 Pro - I know they are not the best but I really love the sound they have.



What would you say is the definition of your sound?

I'd say the definition of my sound is different. I like to be different, I like my sound to be different. I appreciate my fans for support me and my experiments. I always wanted to make a special music that will bring any kind of emotions to the listener. That's the key of big hits.



What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?

I do it online and my last purchase was quite recently - my first studio monitors Yamaha HS5, wish me good luck with them!


Artist Social Links:



Label Social Links:



Sales / Pre-sales Link: https://bfan.link/going-deep

bottom of page