top of page

INTERVIEW: REDGE



We sat down to speak with Redge, a Techno artist inspired by the underground rave of the Uk as much as the more mainstream Techno sound we know and love. Lets see what he has to say...


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


I have been a DJ since I was 17, so 17 years now! However, I started producing quite a few years later, and had my first release with Roll-In Groove Records in 2016 on a compilation album from the label artists. There was alway a very lively underground rave scene in the UK, with multiple parties to choose from every weekend throughout most of my years spent there. As such, this was a huge influence for my love of electronic music, and ultimately made me listen to such a broad range of genres that it must have had an influence on my sound. Although, the techno I now produce wouldn't fit with that scene, and so I am having fun finding new sources for inspiration in festivals and club events.


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


If I had to pick just one, it would probably the first time I went to Psychedelic Circus Festival in Germany. Back then I was producing Progressive Psytrance, and all my favourite artists were in one place, with such a packed line up that it was hard to fit any sleep in at all! The production and sound at the festival was great and to hear all these inspirational tracks in person, surrounded by friends and people who felt the same way, totally blew my mind.


Actually, I just got back from my first visit to Awakenings Festival this weekend, and it feels like I relived that experience all over again but with Techno.


Since you got into this professionally, what helped you the most to grow as an artist?


I would have to give the props to my great friend and fellow artist Section303. From working with me in developing the quality of my music, supporting my music with releases on his label Roll-In Groove Records, and helping with bookings, he has been a huge source of support and growth in my music career.


How is the music scene in your city?


I have only just moved over to Valencia, Spain a few months ago, and am really excited to check the music scene out. It has been a hectic summer with time in the studio and travel, but I look forward to checking out some of the clubs in the area that are bringing in some great Techno acts.


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?


Following on from the previous answer I am pretty new to the city so still figuring this out, however once I am back in Valencia in a couple of weeks, I will be making a point of checking out clubs like Barraca and Spook that are bringing in some exciting acts.


Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects during this past year(s) of lockdowns?


I would say I have been way more productive on the music front in the last year since being able to travel around again. I was working full time in the lockdowns and since quitting work to focus on music last year, and finding a new source of creativity and motivation in producing a new genre, I have been able to put out more new music than ever before. I am super excited to share the culmination of the last years work in my new "Take Ten" live set, featuring all new and unheard productions.


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind it?


Having produced Progressive Psytrance for many years, I was finding more inspiration and love for some of the new music being released by labels like Senso Sounds and Alula Tunes, and after some trips to Berlin, Paris and London for Techno events found that I had huge energy for producing in another genre. As mentioned above, over the last 10 months I dove back into the studio to produce 14 new techno tracks, which is showcasing my step into this new genre. I wanted to take the time to create a body of work large enough to really convey this sound.


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


Interestingly, I am spending a lot of time travelling in my campervan right now, so the bulk of the work is being done on just my laptop and some Sennheiser HD25 headphones! Then I listen to the mixdowns on some other reference points like my van speakers, other headphones and smaller speaker systems to check it sounds good across all of them, before working with my mastering engineer to polish up the final sound ready for release. But I look forward to setting up another studio as I get settled in Valencia.


What's the one bit of kit you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


Right now with this very small studio set up I would have to say the HD25 headphones, as I feel like I have really got used to them and how things should sound, so I can still turn out productions while on the road. However, I have been using Ableton since the very beginning, and if I got rid of this it would be like learning to walk again!


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


It is always hard to define your own music, but I try to pull elements from both the more deep/minimal groovy techno sound from labels like Senso Sounds and Alula Tunes, with the big synth elements and infinite energy from labels like Drumcode and Afterlife. However, this is more where my aspirations lie than my definition of my sound, as I think it will develop and refine with every new production and can only hope to push out productions like those one day!


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


I started mixing vinyl and still have a big collection, but recently all of my purchases have been digital rather than from a record shop. Artists like Lampé, Carbon, Maksim Dark, Layton Giordani and Charles D have all been recent features though.


Artist Social Links:


bottom of page