top of page

INTERVIEW: ZOiD



I'm from Dublin, Ireland. My first experience of music was when I was 7 (in 1986!), I got a Sony Walkman and 2 tapes, the Best of Elton John and Michael Jackson "Bad". Listened to them over and over - I'd go into a totally different world listening to those albums. I started playing guitar when I was 12 and got mad into Jimi Hendrix. A couple of years later I started listening to jazz after buying a quadruple cassette compilation called JAZZ (lots of Miles/Bird/Coltrane/Ellington and big band stuff). And then I discovered electronic music; first Goa Trance from a tape my friend found somewhere, and then techno via an amazing DJ who introduced me to many classics, Jeff Mills, Surgeon, Downwards, Transmat, Warp, Aphex, and on and on. I'd go to his house after school and he'd play records. Every day for years! Got my first synth when I was 16, a Yamaha CS1X, and that was it. I've been making electronic music since then. Still playing guitar too though!


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?

My friend Donal found a Goa trance tape somewhere and that was the first thing when we were around 15. But it didn't last that long. Then another friend played me records by Aphex Twin and The Orb and then Jeff Mills and Rhythim is Rhythim and Surgeon and on and on and on. But the thing that really got me addicted to it was when I got my first synth and figured out how to connect it to a PC and sequence it with Cubase. I was properly done then. I'd make tracks all night long and wake up in the morning with no idea what i'd been doing. Then I'd listen back and be like "WOW this is amazing! I'm a genius!!" even though the music didn't sound very good. Hopefully it's getting a bit better now 25 years later ha.


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?

Yes, I remember finding a copied cassette tape of "I Care Because You Do" in my friend Caroline's house around 1995/96, and the first time I listened to it, it sounded really strange. It didn't make any sense at first. But after a few listens I was hooked on it and everything changed forever. All Aphex's albums take me a few listens initially to like them... even SYRO, at first I thought "No, this time he's messed it up, there's too many ideas in these tracks, they're boring..." and then after a few more listens I got used to it and it started sounding incredible. Same thing happened with Coltrane "A Love Supreme", which sounded quite dull at first. Just goes to show, music that is really enjoyable on first listen often doesn't last that long, whereas music that requires several listens can last for a loooooong time.


Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?

What did I miss the most? I'm going to interpret that as meaning in the last 2 years with all the lockdowns... I've missed playing gigs and going to gigs. I've missed travelling the odd time, although I get more done now I'm home all the time. I'm always looking for ways to learn more, doing courses or studying with a mentor. Learned a lot from Funk d'Void from 2019-2020... and now this year I'm learning a lot from being in Redrackem's Patreon group, seeing masterclasses from the likes of Atjazz, Titonton and Rebecca Vasmant. I was a Red Bull Music Academy participant way back in 2005. THAT was unbelievable. but not sure if it helped me believe in myself. That just takes me a really really long time. Still not there yet. You need to have such rock solid belief and confidence.


How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?

It's been crushed. It's devastating. First thing to stop and the last thing to get back going, it's still not going properly again. Thank god for Sunil Sharpe! and others who've been working really hard to try to get things moving.


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?

My studio! I don't have time to hang out, I work 50 hours a week and have to squeeze in making tracks in spare time.


Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?

I've squeezed in music making on Friday and Saturday nights. On weeknights just 15-30 minutes on music is about all I can manage. Of course, I make time for family with wife and dogs. I don't plan future projects, I just start them and see where they go!


How was your last project born?

ZONGS was born out of an idea I had while teaching a songwriting class in 2018. I got the students working on a project where they write a song with a particular singer in mind. Then I thought "I should do that". So I did! It took about 2 years before I actually recorded the first of the songs though. Now I've finished twelve songs with nine different vocalists.


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind?

Each song on ZONGS has a different concept. There's a single coming out tomorrow, "Wish You (feat. Esosa)" which is a techno-soul song about someone leaving a small town to seek fame and fortune in a big city, leaving behind a friend (the singer of the song) who wishes them well. In the video the person leaving town will be played by my robot puppet, ZIMMY.



As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?

Arturia Microbrute, Casio CZ101, MFB Tanzbar, Eurorack stuff, Yamaha tx81z, Lexicon PCM70, MC202, Tr606, Analog Heat, Digitakt, Ableton, plugins, Unity The Rock Monitors.


What's the one team you'll never get rid of, no matter what?

My wife Lisa and my two terriers Twin and Aphex! They're the best :) Also I like playing music with my brother Matthew, I'd like to do more with him. And with Jenna. and the mixing team Les and Liam. And with harpist Aisling Ennis, mad connection there. Got lots of teams!



bottom of page