top of page

INTERVIEW: Stevans: The Storm



Throughout 4 albums, the band STEVANS, founded by the French-Swiss Yvan Franel, has really left its mark on the music scene: a catalog of strong songs ('Take me back', 'The Backyard', 'When the Light is Gone', etc.), concerts on the world's biggest stages (Paleo Festival, Montreux Jazz, Reeperbahn Festival, London, New York, Paris, China, Peru, Vietnam, to name a few), prestigious sideshow concerts ( Deep Purple, Kaiser Chiefs, Coldplay)...STEVANS has forged his own unique path on the way to releasing new song "THE STORM", (written by Yvan Franel and Andrew Phillips)


“THE STORM” is a song about that progressive feeling that your life is in free fall, but you can't help but fight back, even if you're just punching through the air.

It's a powerful track with a strong vocal performance rising above hard-hitting guitars and pianos. "THE STORM" draws inspiration from pop, rock and indie and offers a commercial theme with a twist.


We have had the pleasure of interviewing him and this has been the result.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


The limitless possibilities of production and arrangement of songs. I used to be rock, sort of brit rock producer, but I got tired of the “only guitars options”…;)


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


The first time I’ve heard a Sinatra live album, when I was a teenager listening to Metallica and Nirvana….did quite a shock, didn’t understand whiy Sinatra could bring me so much emotions, while listening to grunge at school…..;))


Michael Jackson’s concert in Lausanne in 98!


Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?


In Switzerland the music market is very small. There are a lot of nice venues and festival, but we’ve done almost all of them. Since I’ve lived abroad until the age of 17, it was/is important for me to “export” STEVANS as much as possible. We also play music for that: traveling


How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?


Probably like the other countries…badly, but still, I think we were pretty lucky in Switzerland comparing to other countries. But still, it doesn’t stop people from complaining. We’ll get over it! In the meantime, I write and produce…;)


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?


What we call the “old town”. It’s my favorite place in Geneva, it’s charming, cosy, and a lot of foreigner hang out there



Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?


Always! Hectic times, and many projects ahead, such as touring in Brazil and China! I’ve got no wife and kids, so I can do whatever I want…isn’t that cool?? ;)


How was your last project born?


A piano/voice demo, result of my recent influences such as Black Puma. I really enjoy listening to soul music, comforts me, don’t know why.


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind?


“The Storm” is a song about that creeping sense your life is in free fall, but you can’t help fighting back – even if you’re just beating the air. I think the them can talk to many people, whatever age they have


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


Drums, bass, Rhodes keyboard, JUNO, CASIO and JUPITER synths, my Stratocaster for the funk riffs, and a lot of pedal effects!


What's the one team you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


My co-writter and producer Yann Rouiller, and my guitarist Yann Secrest !


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


In general, I’d say it’s electro Synth Pop Rock, and on this recent single “the storm”, I’d say Soul Pop


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


SOUNDS in Geneva, I bought the latest album of Durand Jones & The Indications


SOCIAL MEDIA: https://linktr.ee/stevansofficial PRE ORDER LINKS:

bottom of page