top of page

INTERVIEW: Sleight of Hands presents "Lipstick Shades"



The last future, quick-fire interview with Sleight of Hands. Their upcoming compilation release "Lipstick Shades" has been a huge hit in our office since we got it.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?

Manny: The people! That sense of collective moments and just the way a night can take shape ... the new sounds you hear.


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?

Phil: DJ Shadow's Entroducing ... I couldn't believe he made that with records and an MPC60, it inspired me to try my hand at production, and I wanted to find ways to blend all the eclectic interests and sounds that I had in my head.


Since you got into this professionally, what helped you the most to grow as an artist?

Phil: Not getting too hung up on all the tools and technology - taking the time to write back to people.


How is the music scene in your city?

Manny: It's been through some hard times - but there's a dedication and a core that I love to it.


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?

Manny: You can usually find me at Monarch or Great Northern at night, by day I'm often doing a bike ride, or soaking up the sun on the beach with my dog.

Phil: I'm a bit of a dive bar hideout, so daytime drinking at spots like Benders, Parkside is always welcome with a game of pool.



Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects during this past year(s) of lockdowns?

Phil: It's been interesting. I moved cities just before lockdown, so with splitting my time that's changed a lot in how I even make music (a lot more portable), but it's been great to have some time to finish and put out projects. On the other hand, it's been a testing time - especially with family members or friends that have moved on. Rest in power.


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind it?

Manny: It's really all about absorbing different vibes, and the album is made from a series of singles where we wanted the a-side to be a club-forward track, whilst the b-side is more of the hidden 'cant clear the sample' gems for the headz. Reminds us of the feeling you'd get digging around on white labels at the store.


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?

Manny: A lot of found gear, hand me downs and a hard drive of fun - stacks of wax and different fx.


What's the one bit of kit you'll never get rid of, no matter what?

Phil: My Fender Rhodes Suitcase 73

Manny: Turntables


What would you say is the definition of your sound?

Manny: Unpredictable and not too serious.


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?

Phil: Paradise in Santa Barbara, I picked up Tony Joe White's "Black and White" - loved it.

Manny: Vinyl Dreams in San Francisco, Beatconductor Volume 1 | The Dirtbombs: Ultraglide In Black



bottom of page