top of page

INTERVIEW: RICHIE BLACKER



Richie Blacker is a DJ and producer forged in the underground Irish club and rave scene who has ushered in the most exciting new sound in years. Creating something modern but giving a nod reminiscent of the 90’s rave scene. A collision of early 90’s house, techno and rave records merged to create an elusive and original sound of their own. The 90’s rave culture and the DIY spirit of the acid house scene have always had a huge influence on Richie and his music from a very young age. “Rave music culture is in my blood.”


Richie has broken into 2021 with releases like Nothing Else Matters, Anjunabeats, Of Unsound Mind, as well as garnering support from BBC Radio 1’s Pete Tong and Danny Howard, cumulatively leading to his signing to Atlantic Records in late 2021. With Coming from the likes of Sasha, John Digweed, Adam Beyer and with numerous Radio 1 works under his belt, he’s a new rising star on the electronic dance scene and has already secured some massive releases for 2021.


Richie Blacker, just signed to Atlantic after a breakneck year, launches straight into 2022 with the hypnotic original ‘Space Cadet’ and vinyl release on Scotland’s Limbo Records. Creating something modern but giving a nod reminiscent of the 90’s rave scene. ‘Space Cadet’ revels in the melodic house, techno and early 90’s rave sound. Featuring releases from the likes of Of Unsound Mind, Anjunabeats & Nothing Else Matters under his belt and having received BBC Radio 1’s Future Fire Artist of the Year award, Richie Blacker is someone to watch.


We have had the pleasure of speaking with him and this has been the result.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


My older brothers where ravers and growing up watching them go to raves just made me what to grow up like them. Only I took it a step further and became a DJ and started producing music! Now days music is my life


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


Daft Punk - Homework changed my life and the best concert I have ever been too was Daft Punk at Oxygen Festival in Ireland 2007.


Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?


I have done a few seasons in Ibiza. Between living there and going to raves all over Europe! That’s where my music taste matured. But no where beats the raves in Belfast!


How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?


We had a pretty strict lockdown in Belfast and the clubs got shut down for a year and a half. They have only recently opened back up again. The energy the raves in Belfast have are second to none. Belfast is a raving city’s and needs to be on every ravers bucket list.


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?


I love all the old historic pubs and bars like Kelly’s Cellsrs, Whites Tavern, Maddison’s and Mc Huges bar. Also 39 Gordon street. Although it’s not an old bar. It’s where I would most go on a night out drinking with my friends



Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?


Basically from the pandemic hit Thats all I have been doing.


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


I only recently moved into my new studio in Belfast City Center. It’s made of of some old and new hardware synths. 303’s, 808 & 909. I also have been buying a lot of the Behringer clones lately as the originals are an absolute fortune and it’s an adorable way to get some of that classic analog gear into your studio! They sound great as well. I have no complaints so far with any of them,


What's the one thing you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


Has to be my 808.


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


A mash up of 90s rave, acid house, classic 90s euphoric trance & techno


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


It was actually Phonica Records in London. I was there last weekend. I was visiting London with my sister, cousin and my nephew. So I didn’t get to spend to long there browsing. If I had have had more time I’m sure I could have picked up a few gems. I’ll be back soon for sure tho.


bottom of page