top of page

INTERVIEW: PYRAME



PYRAME begins his independent work. This uniquely inspired musician, who has made a name for himself through a handful of tasty songs.


His music is unclassifiable, but it has no rival. Close your eyes and let the sensations flow.


In 2021 you have had many activities. Can you explain how this increase in activity came about?


My thoughts get clearer year after year about the overall direction of my projects in music. I am looking at regularly producing music under my main act Pyrame, and in 2020 I added to this a record label, called Thisbe Recordings. From one release in the second half of 2020 (Pyrame - The Pace of Everything that Lives), 2021 saw another 3 EPs being released (Radial Gaze - Refined, Semodi - Next Summer, Rambal Cochet - Oseary Drakoulias).

The idea of the label is to have a playground of like-minded artists, from whom I love the music, and to release their music via the label. My friend Andrew Claristidge joined me in June 2021 as an Artistic Director in order to further develop the franchise. Furthermore, Christiania Krueger, with whom I have worked for the last two years in film production, has been instrumental when it comes to music video production for Pyrame´s videos and now for videos of tracks released on the label. The three of us have big plans for 2022.


What is the perspective of your music?


I am about to release my third EP as Pyrame. It will be a package of 4 original tracks as well as 2 remixes. For the first time, I have written an album 100% instrumental, composed for my newly-born son. Besides, I also have some electro-house tracks ready for another EP, that I will most likely release in early 2023.




What is the most significant thing about the album for you, personally?

Each EP represents a stage of my life. It seems that each year brings something new on the table and each of my albums translates into a story I am keen to narrate. Each EP hence sums up the emotions I went through over that period of time. This is how I would like my music to be heard/looked at : A sort of autobiography expressed in music and in lyrics.

What can you tell us about your last job? And of the set that you have composed?


Our main significant job lately was the release of "Oseary Drakoulias" by Krasnodar-based producer Rambal Cochet (aka Volta Cab), via Thisbe Recordings.

The mixtape put ahead the Acid Washed remix of "Oseary Drakoulias", as well as tracks I really dig at the moment, from Philip Laws, Radial Gaze, La Mverte, Terr, Antic, Bonipso, Tall Fussman

Why are you fighting digital capitalism?


I should not but you need to live with our era. I am nostalgic of the pre-digital world, going to clubs and concerts without handy, buying vinyls and asking the staff what was the tune being played in the disc shop, before Shazam came along. Having a small job in the summer to get the money to buy oneself CDs. Now a lot has become a service economy (Spotify, etc), the system expects you to post stuff about yourself on social media all the time. Perception takes over reality. Strange world.


Can you give us an idea of what the coming year holds? Any release you can share details about or a performance about?

Next year is exciting. There are already 6 releases being planned via Thisbe Recordings, including a compilation from great artists, the debut EP of Philip Lawns, a limited edition, my third EP, and more good tunes ready to take-off. When it comes to performances, the focus will be to DJ in Berlin and if possible, abroad, and have music played this way for now. Finally, I am optimistic that I will be able to play live songs when spring comes.



bottom of page