top of page

INTERVIEW: Philip Lawns




Philip Lawns is an Italian music producer, co-founder of Turbokitchen, who releases on labels like Motek and My Favorite Robot Recordings.

On his debut solo EP for Thisbe Recordings, “Ten Years of Travel”, he tells the story of the Odyssey and its protagonist Ulysses through the use of machines (such as Nord Lead 4, Roland SPD-30, Behringer TD-3, Yamaha Reface CS and Moog sub 37) and hot rhythms. From his secret garden, a perfectly acoustically isolated dressing room, “Ten years of travel” was born. Particular to the structure of the EP is that each track has its own remix. Featuring a reworking of “Distorted View”, Days of Being Wild delivers a classic dark record, true to its idiosyncratic sound and original grooves, captivating the dance floor immediately. Traveler and cosmic poet Pyrame’s reworking of the single “Start” first feels like rain falling before the storm hits and reveals a euphoric feeling as the break begins. Romain FX pulls off an excellent remix of Ten Years of Travel, the lead single from the Philip Lawns EP. His remix is ??a pure Italo disco reworking of the original, infused with pop synths and keyboards, that will leave no one still and still.

We have had the pleasure of speaking with Philip and this has been the result.


Do you remember any record or concert that made you see everything differently?

I was just a kid and I remember very well the record that made me see everything differently was "The Sky Was Pink" by Nathan Fake and in particular the remix by James Holden.

What hardware and software does each track work with?

My current list of toys consists of: Nord Lead 4, Roland Spd-30 Octapad, Behringer td -3, Yamaha Reface Cs, Moog sub 37.

Ableton and various VST plug-ins help me to complete my way of making music.

If you could choose a piece of equipment to own, what would that be and why?

Right now I'd like to be able to get my hands on the Sequential Prophet 6. I followed a demonstration of the instrument and I think it brings to life the best of the vintage sound in a modern way.


What do you admire most about the label?

The first three words that come to my mind are: Professionalism, humility, communication.

I immediately felt in a big family that you can trust and take advice from.

I am honored to be part of this project and I take this opportunity to thank them heartfully for everything.

How are you living the music scene in your city with this murky pandemic situation?

Many locals have clearly suffered from that period of time. Some clubs have restarted, some will no longer open, but new situations have also been created. Luckily everything is back to normal, as in almost everyone. Finally we can meet and have fun!

What are your favorite music places to hang out in the city?

Surely the Meet Compact Club creates the best situations at the moment. Is a team of determined people who are making their mark even outside Italy with collaborations also in Berlin.

What are your favourite artists right now and why:

I don't think I have a favorite music producer at the moment, but in the last few days I have been listening a lot to my compatriots Amarcord and Tamburi Neri.

Amarcord and Iive a few kilometers away even if we don't know each other personally. Ed He is very young, very talented and is making important releases. It's nice to know that good music comes out in our area.


BUY:

https://thisberecordings.bandcamp.com/music

bottom of page