top of page

INTERVIEW: NORB



3 local Coventry producers, all at different stages in their careers, come together for a tasteful exploration in stripped down deep house. These have a little bit of everything, from the afternoon lounge bar, to the clubhouse and afters. Expect gleaming keys, acid stabs, atmospheric overdubs, and hints of old British deep house.


We have had the pleasure of speaking with NORB and this has been the result. Enjoy it!


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?

The first time I listened to artists like Fatboy slim, Royksopp and Groove Amada found out that they did all of it using computers and thinking to myself, well if they can do it why can’t I, it turns out its much harder than I first thought haha.

Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?

Royksopp, Melody will forever be my favorite and most influential album, I could believe the things they did with sound and how they made it so beautiful and addictive.

Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?

I have been into music production from about the age of 17 and only practiced it very on and off for years as I was never sure I could succeed given the huge amount of talent and music out there. This all changed in the last couple of years as I realised that it really doesn’t matter whether you succeed or not, what does matter is that on a day to day basis you are improving and the success is only the accumulation of all the small efforts you put in regularly when combined with a bit of lady luck.

How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?


Brighton is back in business as of this summer and what a summer its been! Yeah lockdown did suck but it has been good for reflecting on what we normally take for granted, in light of this, the love and the happiness I experience on all the dancefloors I have been on this summer have made it all worth it.


For those of you in the Area we are launching our first night on the 23rd of October at the Hare and Hounds, its free entry so come on down. What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?

In Brighton, there is no place like the beach you can always find like minded people there and folks swimming everyday of the year.

Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?

I am a working man, but I always have time for those things, easiest way to that is by avoiding TV and Instagram, although we all get sucked in sometimes.


How was your last project born?

I never plan any track that I make, it often all happens in one session and the end result will normally reflect elements from what ever music I listened right before starting the track. I will be hand picking elements from each of the tracks that really grab my attention and trying to replicate them, the cool thing about this is that I will often fall short of replicating the elements but make something unique and interesting by accident.

What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind?

My aim with my music is to lay down an addictive groove with the drums and bassline and then split the mood with some emotive elements that transport the listener. As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


I am quite guilty of not using an awful lot of hardware, I have TR8 which gets occasional use but I’m predominantly just selecting good samples and putting them through Ableton. What's the one team you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


Not sure I understand this one haha What would you say is the definition of your sound?

Groove focused, emotive with the overall aim of having fun, haha

What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


Cross the tracks in Brighton I bought Soul Makossa by Manu Dibango.


Web / Social Media Links:

bottom of page