top of page

INTERVIEW: Kidd Mike


Dirtybird’s debut release from Kidd Mike continues to explore the dark and moody side of techno and house music. Thriving off a hypnotic vocal and rolling bass lines, ‘Boom Beat Heart Box harnesses the experimental nature ingrained in each Dirtybird release with its seductive low-end production. A father himself, Kidd Mike’s Dirtybird debut is a fitting hit on Claude VonStroke’s ‘Your Dad Plays Great Music’ Tour getting regular spins at each show across the US.


Regarding the track, Kidd Mike said, “I wanted to produce a record that would have dance floors chanting along as they’re hypnotized by this vocal while they bounce away to the rolling bassline that carries the groove.”


South African-born Kidd Mike started producing his upfront flavor of tech-house in 2009, when he first moved to the UK, immediately engrossed by the edgy sound of the underground house scene. With a few releases on some smaller labels based in Ibiza and Hungry under the alias Stealth Labs, he gave up production in 2013 to focus on being a dad. When the pandemic hit in 2020, Mike made the decision to pour himself back into his one passion, crafting a sound that is designed to make you smile and move.


Kidd Mike invites fans to join him on the dancefloor and stream ‘Boom Beat Heart Box


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?

· I went to my first Ministry of Sound event, and Underworlds’ “Born Sippy” played out over the masses - I was just left in awe. I couldn’t believe that music could sound so rich and so decadent, and that was me, sold. I loved electronic music since.

Do you remember any record or concert that made you see everything differently?

· Yes I do. I fell in love with the sound coming out of the Chicago house scene from artists like, Felix Da House Cat, DJ Sneak, Franky Knuckles and others. In 1997, Daft Punk dropped their album, Homework and that changed everything for me. I realized house music can sound a lot edgier and a lot grittier and I became obsessed with how they were able to get those sounds.

Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss nationally, internationally? And what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?

· When I started producing House Music 12 years ago I signed a few releases, however in 2013 I decided to quite music, and focus on my daughter. In 2020, when the pandemic hit, I couldn’t take being locked indoors for so long, and I wanted a platform to let my voice be heard. I decided that Music would be the art form I use to express myself. The more they locked us down the more I wanted to produce, and the more time I had to learn and increase my knowledge and grow.

· It may sound cheesy, but my family are my biggest drivers. I have an amazing, beautiful wife and every time I look at Her I know I’m doing something right.

How did you decide to embark on your latest job?

· 2020 saw the release of “Brack Down” from Holt 88 which I could not get enough of. Then in 2021 Steve Darko dropped his Album Midnight Swim (I probably played it about 1000 times). So this year I decided to make a song aimed at sending to the DIRTYBIRD Demo Box. I produced and sent “Boom Beat Heart Box”. They reached out and signed me up. I look forward to working with the team on future releases.

How are you living in the music scene in your city with this murky pandemic situation?

· Well, the restrictions in London have been lifted for a while now. But when we were in lock down, I was not a happy camper… No Festivals, No Gigs just quiet streets and Zoom calls. So I decided to pour myself into my passion – making House Music. I honestly contribute music production to getting me thought the pandemic.

What are your favorite places to hang out in the city of London?

· 93 Feet East, Shoreditch

· Printworks, Surrey Quays

· Ministry of Sound

· Borough Market

Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?

· My family has been extremely supportive of my music production. I make a conscious effort to spend time with my wife and daughter.

· A few new releases are already in the pipeline with other labels. But I feel at home with the team at DIRTYBIRD and I want to produce music that they, as a label, will be proud to put out.

· I’ve been chatting to HOLT88 about a collaboration on a track together – which I am uber excited.

Do you have any final words of wisdom?

· Absolutely. In this digital age where music is in abundance, it’s easy for new producers to get disheartened. Don’t!

·The fact that this is one of my first releases in over a decade the team at DIRTYBIRD Records has picked it up, I hope will inspire other producers that sit for hundreds of hours making beats to continue doing so. Keep being creative, keep learning and keep pushing the envelope.


BUY


Connect with Kidd Mike:


Connect with DIRTYBIRD:

bottom of page