top of page

INTERVIEW: Jake Beautyman


Jake Beautyman creates music that works in all settings and transcends genres. His openness to a wide range of sound is what has both made him a widely loved favourite, but also someone who operates in his own parallel musical world. We had a chance to talk to him, so enjoy your reading and check out his latest releases.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


Definitley the loud speakers that resonate through your body


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


The Wall... the album (not the concert unfortunately as I'm way too young and missed them)


Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?

I was booked to play at PsyApo Festival which is a bespoke post-apocolyptic style event in the Czech Republic and unfortunately due to travel restrictions I wasn't able to get there. I've been booked again to headline this year however and can't wait to bring them some vibes.


A few things in the past year really helped me give that extra push to myself. One of these was being asked to play at a Wiggle event. This was a real honour as my parents used to party at their events back in the late 90's when Tech House started to become a genre and I wasn't even a spec on this planet. They're legendary - so it's just mental!


How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?


It's ok. We lack a proper established Club that dedicates itself to dance music but we're only 1 hours train away from London so all is good.



What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?


Locally, it's the nature areas.. the woodlands + forrests on the outskirts of town


Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?


100% it's been a blessing in some ways


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


I've got Focal monitors which I love, an Elektron drum machine + a TD3, as well as my computer which is where it all comes together


What's the one item you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


The monitors... I'll upgrade & expand in the future for sure, but I always want to keep these close by for referencing as they were my first ever monitors and I know them like they are my little brother


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


Tripped out tech house with acidic flavours & deep influences


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


The last record store I visited was actually in Spain. I can't even remember it's name... I was out there on a little Skate trip with a friend in Barcelona and we just happened to stumble across it!


I think I got an old Bushwacka cut on his label Oblong Records. Two Lumps, One Sugar!





bottom of page