top of page

INTERVIEW: Dj Asscar



Today The last future QA is with Dj Asscar, who is just releasing her Dj Sasscar EP. Tough House music with an edge, it was great to sit down and speak to the artist.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


"I got properly introduced to the world of electronic music when I was invited to an underground club in Stockholm at the age of 18. I've loved it ever since. The energy and openness of the culture and the many mixtures of genres that is inspired in house music is everything for me since I grew up as an avid music lover."


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


"I have one significant memory from 2011 when I saw Axel Boman play at an underground club called Kruthuset. I remember his specific set being the catalyst for me to start DJing."


Since you got into this professionally, what helped you the most to grow as an artist?


"I think it's being curious and still stay in touch with and listen to all the other genres. The broader you're tastes are the more inspiration you get and the more evolving you do. Sometimes when I'm deep into producing my music I like to listen to indie rock or something completely different to what I'm making."


How is the music scene in your city?


"Well I live in Berlin so that's quite self explanatory! I'm very happy to live here, we have a thriving scene and its very unique to any other city I've been living in or been to. Without living here, I'm not sure if I'd be on this musical journey."


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?


"My favourite clubs are Heidegluhen and Panorama Bar, that's where you'll often see me having a good ole time."



Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects during this past year(s) of lockdowns?


"I guess it was the multiple lockdowns we've had here that gave me time to reflect on what truly would make me happy. So that was definitely helpful for me to recalibrate and focus on making music."


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind it?


"What I want is to make club bangers that are funny. I love it when DJs mix in a playful euro dance track in a more serious set, it's the juxtaposition for me. I was inspired by my bad dating experiences in Berlin and artists like Deee-lite. I would love to make people laugh and dance simultaneously."


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


"I have a Casio keyboard, MacBook Pro with Ableton and small studio monitors."


What's the one bit of kit you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


"I think it would be the keyboard. It's so nice to have to explore ideas in my head, I am no piano player but its so easy to find melodies and basslines by just sitting there and play around on it."


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


"Right now, I'd say its a mixture between house and euro dance with a hint of italodisco. Definitely sassy with some self deprecating humour."


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


"The last record store I visited was Amoeba Music in LA, I got records from Isolee, Nocow and Kerri Chandler."


Artist Social Links:


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9WzI48gdohCX4V9Xb8OztA


https://www.instagram.com/dj_asscar/


https://soundcloud.com/djasscar


Sales / Pre-sales Link: https://linktr.ee/djasscar

bottom of page