top of page

INTERVIEW: DELLA



DELLA creates music that works in all settings and transcends genres. His openness to a wide range of sound is what has both made him a widely loved favourite, but also someone who operates in his own parallel musical world. We had a chance to talk to him, so enjoy your reading and check out his latest releases.


Hi DELLA, It’s a pleasure to have you on board. The European summer is finally here, What are your plans for it?

Hi! Thanks for having me.

This summer I’m planning to finish a new batch of releases I’ve been working on both musics for the dancefloor & an EP that’s based on a live-set performance.


Also, I’ve been invited to DJ quite often so I’m happy that’s taking off as well.

Which is your sensation? Do you think that this year we will finally return to normality or will we continue to navigate in the uncertainty of recent years?

In the kind of reality we are living, It’s impossible for me to project or idealize the future.

I choose to make amends with uncertainty and try to make the best of every day.

Why you decided to jump into the electronic music world?


It was kind of a situation I saw myself surrounded by.


I had been producing for a couple of years (mostly for other artists & bands), and I was already attending many parties.

So I started playing around making tracks and sending them to friends, who would play them at their parties until one track (Rocket Love) got picked for a Compilation and that was the beginning of it. What can you tell us about this new Ep ‘A little Stitious?

This is a particular one for me. I think it’s the “floatiest” release I’ve made so far.


It combines both electro and an old-school ravey vibe.

Total synthesis of two big phases I had by the time I made this record.


Both tracks came out quite quickly and as a result of exploring and just pushing sound out of their natural place.

Usually, I lean towards making “calmer” music when I feel like I need to refresh my mind & creativity, so I’m really happy that this EP got picked out.

It’s really nice to get to share a different side of one.


Why ‘A little Stitious?


“I'm not superstitious, but I am a little stitious.

And how about Out Records? What can you tell us about the label and its way of working?

Out Records is an amazing project that I’m super happy to be a part of.


It has super interesting releases lined up & they really focus on the creative aspect above all.

It’s a pleasure to get to work with people who want to push the boundaries of what’s out there.


Let’s get nerdy. What hardware and software have you worked with? When you produce... what is your work criteria


I always produce in Ableton. And for this I used a bunch of 808 drums + samples I dug out of my library.

Also, I recorded Out’s TR8-S and a bunch of 303s going through some outboard delay.


For me, It’s always about textures. I try to make the most out of every sound so I can sustain a simple arrangement.


When in creative mode, I go berzerk squeezing out as many sounds as I can out of one element.


The sounds obtain their own personality, so what’s left it’s to choose how you want to tell their story.


Well, before saying goodbye, we would like you to tell us what things you have prepared for the near future?

I have a number of releases coming up (both original & remixes) for the second half of the year.

I’m finishing an EP that’s more rock-oriented and also working on new material with my new band Therapy Tuesday.


And I’ll be DJing and producing a lot around Barcelona, but I also got some gig-trips planned for the late summer.


BUY LINK:


bottom of page