top of page

INTERVIEW: CementO presents Entrance and Exit EP



Defmain music newcomer CementO releases a four-track EP packed with electro patterns and a dark flavor of ebm mixed with raw techno beats. Based in Chile, CementO brings his extensive production experience gained from making tracks for many innovative techno labels.


Played on full-scale sound systems or on your beloved headphones, these tracks will transport you to a world where dark tones rule and body movement is mandatory.


We have had the pleasure of interviewing him and this has been the result.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


Mostly metalic sounds, high pitch filters and really weird melodies, it was all combined and sometimes listening to it separated, it was really weird but I loved it.

Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?

Jeff Mills at Hyperstate Norway 1999, I sold all my heavy metal cds just to attend and see and hear him, the experience was bigger than I expected, coz besides Jeff Mills, there was Claude Young Jr., Dj Misjah and a bunch of different artist from techno to trance, but the techno line up in the indoor rave was massive and it was really worthy the submission.

Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?


What I miss is the pureness of being ignorant of something that feels new without any previous knowledge and get into it, the visiting of old clubs, the smell of concrete, the great sound of the event, hearing people why they are there and just getting pure and simple adrenaline of hearing something new and the great work of djs that knows how to keep the party fun and interesting.

What helped me grow are artists that I met along the way, people who told me their experience with softwares and their inspiration to make music.

People who know their history with music and not ignoring what happent in the past.

People that know that part of the history of music ( such as Techno ) are social movements that shape the country and also part of the music events such as Woodstock in the US and the Love Parade after the end of the Berlin wall.

People who are not just doing music, some of them are visual artists who are happy to be part of the electronic scene and has contributed to the cause of making an event always feels like a cultural statement for those who believe in this.

Experience as such has helped me to grow and be inspired to keep it going, believing in this is believing in myself.


How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?

As I see it, it is pretty slow and kind of rebellious.

The slow part is from the people who organize events or parties that has to do with electronic music, they use a good part of their time to get something great and present it to the public, and if they are lucky and there is a few infected in the country ( not a high threatening numbers ) they get to do the event with a good public health control.

The rebellious one is the young generation that just organize a party outdoors in a week times and they just do it with no restriction what so ever, in sort of an anarchist way.

In resume, there is a scene eather there is a pandemic or not.



What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?

I'm old, I have no place to hang out in the city hehe, just mostly visiting friends and support friends artists that I am sure will play music of my taste.

Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?

Yes, both music and my family are important, so I have used most of my time making music material and have quality family time at the weekends.

How was your last project born?

I have checked old projects back in 2004 and so on.

So I got into some old tracks that I revisited, finish them and make them sound more new but still representative to the genre that I formed in the first place. Those are three tracks from the past and added a brand new one to create a four tracker and get a good EP out of it.


What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind?


The concept is that there are other genres into and behind the techno genre that are as important as techno. EBM and Electro are two of them and Hard Techno, and these genres are united like brothers and have seen eachother grow and change as much as Techno has done it.


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


Fruity Loops 9, Behringer MS20 monitors, M-Audio Keystation Mini 32 MK3 and Novation Launch Control midi controller.


What's the one team you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


Turntables/Mixer+Vinyl collection, it has been in my life for more than 20 years, the only thing that has changed is the mixer, but it is one thing that I would die if I lose it.

What would you say is the definition of your sound? It is a thick sound, basses is the most important thing I work and it has to be with distortion just enough to feel dirty.

I represent Techno and try to be as unique, personal and original as possible it can get.

What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


It was Bristol Muziq ( @bristolmuziq insta* ) it has a physical store thou, where anyone can visit.

Last time I was there I got " Cosmo feat. Star - Dance All Night " from Filtered Records, house music vinyl, good mixes and " Bassoon - Cordoba " from Federation Of Drums, great techno label.


bottom of page