top of page

INTERVIEW: BABSY

"Hopefully this nightmare of Covid will end in a near future and we'll get back together in the dancefloors!"

An interview with BABSY:


For readers unfamiliar with you, please tell us about yourself. How has your musical journey been so far?


Hi, my name is Berkem. I'm a Turkish DJ/Producer/Musician based in Barcelona and also the founder of Gruv Collective. I've been DJ'ing since I'm 17-18 but my musical journey is just starting. Making music full time, as a livelihood and hobby, have you always dreamed of this? Would young Babsy approve of this lifestyle? It was more of a hobby back then since but now I see it as a definite career. I feel incredibly lucky to be in the music industry because I don't have a background in musical education. I've learned it all from YouTube, internet and from my friends. Young Babsy would definitely approve this lifestyle. You have a preference for a euphoric and energetic sound, why? Why do you choose this state of mind? Honestly, I never have a pre-conception of music that I want to make. I just try to implement sounds or genres that I like in my music. My influences are ever changing so I have no idea what kind of music I'll be doing next. How is your sound evolving? What artists and genres do you enjoy mixing right now? It's evolving very quickly; I'm getting so much influenced by the new garage and breaks revival in electronic music. Some new artists that I'm really enjoying to listen right now are Tom Jarmey and his other aliases/projects and Will Silver. Incredible producers! Where does your sound go? What are your current preferences? I really don't have an answer for that, it's constantly evolving while I'm getting influenced by so many different kinds of music and artists. Has the pandemic changed your musical preference? The pandemic made me more open to explore new things in music. As I learn more about production, I'm also putting way more attention to the quality, versatility and uniqueness in other people's music. What projects are you working on right now? I've just finished my album about a month ago and I also started a band project with a close friend. I'm really excited on these lately. Do you have any final words of wisdom? Good days are ahead of us. Hopefully this nightmare of Covid will end in a near future and we'll get back together in the dancefloors!


BABSY

bottom of page