top of page

INTERVIEW: 1STR1C3



Taken from 1STR1C3's upcoming "Fastridebadfinish" EP due out February 25th on 51beats here we premiere "rbtrevenge". Fastridebadfinish is a trip that took place in the car on the way back from a late-night concert. Suddenly, a normal return home becomes an escape, a race against the clock with robots that want to take everything you have. A race where the accelerator pedal is not even carelessly lifted and your boiled mind is now only dealing with bad thoughts due to your survival instinct. You think of your loved ones, telling them that we will meet again somewhere else. We think about the counterpart and what he feels during the chase, trying to identify as much as possible with the latter. You think why is all this happening and why are these robots mad at you? Where does all this anger come from? Until you get to the grand finale, where it doesn't necessarily end well, where you may have escaped or even hit a wall, effectively losing everything... in any case, you wake up, the ride ends, you pick up the foot of the accelerator and you think about how you got home in such a short time, you throw yourself on the bed with your shoes still on and you fall asleep.


We have had the pleasure of speaking with the producer and this has been the result.


What was the first thing that attracted you to the world of electronic music?


I believe the music itself


Do you remember any album or concert that has changed everything?


yes, i was at the village underground in london to hear Untold.

the sound system was devastating and his live was exceptional.

I went out without ears but with a big smile on my face.


Since you got into this professionally, what did you miss the most nationally, internationally and on the contrary, what helped you the most to grow, even to believe in yourself?

where I am currently living, the electronic music scene has not been as widespread and acclaimed in recent years. however, there are plenty of very good artists who work admirably every day.

being in the first place a curious person, I believe that musical curiosity is in short supply around here


How is the music scene living in your city with this murky pandemic situation?


these two (almost three) years have been terrible for the music scene in general.

I think that the underground scene and music in the form of art will never die, for the passion that all these warriors share in this endless battle


What are your favorite places to hang out in the city?

I am not a person who goes out a lot, my peace of mind is mainly achieved when I am at home However, Milan is a beautiful city and offers many recreational possibilities.


Have you had time to focus on making music, spending time with your family, or planning future projects?


I am a sound designer working from my home studio and consequently yes, I am able to distribute the time in order to satisfy all these needs.



How was your last project born?


“Fastridebadfinish EP” come from a trip I made one evening while I was smoking at home.

What do you want to convey in this work? What is the concept behind?

I can't actually tell you why or how this trip took over me but it happened and to be honest I'm happy about that.


Fastridebadfinish is a trip that took place in the car returning from an evening gig. All of a sudden, a normal return home becomes an escape, a race against time with robots who want to take everything you have. A race where the accelerator pedal does not even get up by mistake and your boiled mind now deals only with bad thoughts due to your

survival instinct.


Until you get to the grand finale, where it doesn't necessarily end well, where you might have escaped or you might even have hit a wall, effectively losing everything ... in any case, you wake up, the trip ends, you raise the foot off the accelerator and you think about how you got home in such a short time, you throw yourself in bed with your shoes still

on and you sleep.


I personally think that this work conveys many different types of moods such as anxiety, melancholy, remorse, fear, adrenaline, love and resignation.

This is not a project that aims to convey something specific, I think it depends a bit on who and how is listening to it that makes the difference.


As for your studio, what is your setup currently made of?


my current setup consists of several synths such as korg prologue8, moog minitaur, elektron model: sample and many more. in my creative process, however, I tend not to use too many machines simultaneously to avoid confusion.

I have tools that maybe I don't look at for months which then unexpectedly or not, become the protagonists of a specific project.


What's the one team you'll never get rid of, no matter what?


My record collection.


What would you say is the definition of your sound?


Electronic, warm and constantly changing


What was the last record store you visited and what did you get out there?


the last record shop I visited was not a record shop!

I recently put some records with another project in a pub here in the area.

after the evening, the owners took me to the basement of the club, which, due to the constant closures given by the covid, turned it into a pop up shop where they (also) sold a lot of records at competitive prices.

I bought some timeless classics that were missing from my collection


bottom of page