top of page

INTERVIEW: Dad Of The Year



Canadian Dad Of The Year releases his 4-track release. Dad Of The Year that kind of artists who do not stitch without thread, who know what they are doing at all times and leave nothing to chance, although sometimes their decisions may seem unusual or out of place.


Unearthly can and should be heard as a piece of timeless music, which conveys a positive idea in times of conflict, and its aesthetic appeals to the most basic, deep and receptive of the spirit. Dad Of The Year, in short, designs a wide and fragile sound to listen and feel from the deepest.


We have had the pleasure of interviewing him and this has been the result.


What was the first that attracted you from electronic music?

It was the late 90s and I never heard of this kind of music before. I went to a club in Montreal called “Sona”, amazing dark cub where you couldn’t see where was the DJ booth… and when I heard this music my mind blew up, but in a particular way. I wasn’t enjoying myself and dancing like others. I was standing there, mesmerized, studying. It was divine, as if God was speaking to me through music. The next few days I had turntables and was already a wannabe DJ. Never went through a clubber phase, I knew right away I was the conductor.


Do you remember any album or concert that made you look everything in other way?

Absolutely! So when it comes to finding my sound, of course at first I was going left and right. But one night, I had the ultimate DJ course when I heard Steve Lawler playing for I don’t know… 9 hours? Part of his first “Lights Out” tour. It was so masterful. So masterful. People were still talking about that night a decade later. The storytelling, the consistency, the precision… It was like reading THE book on Djing. I was like, okay, I got this. Now I understand. Next few years I built on that subconscious knowledge until I was comfortable playing with or for anybody in the world. I even called my monthly event “Black Out”, an homage to this moment.


Since you started this professionaly, What did you miss at national or international level? And what helped you to grow and to believe in you?

So in the last 20 years, I was really only a local Montreal DJ. Mind you I had a fantastic time, opened and closed for some of the best in the world, great club residencies… but when I retired, I kind of have the feeling that I failed to make it internationally. My producing just wasn’t there. But today, it’s there. I don’t know why. I’m glad things are unfolding as they are. I feel that I matured into it and I have something to say. I’m having a second wind, passion for music is as strong as ever… which is pretty incredible.



How did you decide to work in your last track?

This EP was greatly influenced by Holy Other. I just love, love how he works with haunting vocals and make you feel all those deep emotions. What I love about it is that the lyrics don’t tell you what to feel, it’s really just the tone of the voice. Words are not important. Even if you build your own story listening to it, with your own life experiences… everybody can regroup around this frequency and understand what it makes you feel. Isn’t that amazing?


How are you living the actual situation of the pandemy in your city?

I live in the jungle of Costa Rica, so the pandemy is not really a reality here. Of course I’m aware of it, but that’s the point of being here. I’m in my own bubble and outside most of it.


Where do you go to chill in your city? which ones are your favs?

Nosara in Costa Rica is very small…. But so cool! For how small it is, there’s such a high ratio of good restaurants, nice people, cool places to hang out…. But there’s definitely a lack of good clubs. My mission is to bring world call events and DJs here.


Did you have time to concentrate on Music , Pass time with your family or planify future projects?

It’s all a balancing act. There’s a reason why my wife came up with “Dad of the Year”. Family is important for me. We also have a family business. So all the time I have left, I do music. Whenever I can. I’m obsessive about it.


Any last words to share from your experience?

Well, it’s been very exciting and intense having so many releases coming out almost in the same month! But it’s been fantastic, labels have been great to me, reviews and covering so nice and generous. I’m on cloud 9. Thank you !



Comments


bottom of page